Why Did the Senate Ag Committee Just Vote to Take Away our Food Rights?!

Why Did the Senate Ag Committee Just Vote to Take Away our Food Rights?!
Political Health

How did the U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture vote this past Tuesday in the hearing for the DARK Act, (Deny Americans the Right to Know) strangely officially called the Safe and Accurate Food Labeling Act (HR 1599)? You need to know before if goes to a full Senate floor vote!

The DARK Act cleared the committee in a 14 to 6 vote. This bill was promoted by Representative Mike Pompeo, a supporter of biotech giants like Monsanto, and would pre-empt states from having their own laws on GMO labeling. This includes states such as Vermont which have already acted on GMO labeling. Vermont has a GM labeling law going into effect just months from now.

America needs to contact those that voted Nay and thank those Senators. Ask these representatives to listen to the people, and stand strong against the DARK Act. For those that voted Yea, consider contacting to let them know how you feel about their betrayal of Americans’ right to know what is in their food.  States’ rights need to be protected. We all deserve to know if we are eating foods full of genetically modified ingredients!

It would also allow GMOs to be labeled ‘natural’ so lawsuits which hold large companies liable for lying to consumers about what is in their food (ie., Kellogg’s recent Kashi fiasco) would become a thing of the past. Big Food is basically saying this: ‘we’ll tell you what’s safe, and we’ll call something natural even if it’s made in a lab, and you’ll shut up and eat it.’

We need to stop the DARK Act dead in its tracks.

You can thank these 6 Senators that voted against the DARK Act during the Senate Ag Committee hearing:

Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI): (202) 224-4822

Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-VT): (202) 224-4242

Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH): (202) 224-2315

Sen. Michael Bennet (D-CO): (202) 224-5852

Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand: (D-NY): (202) 224-4451

Sen. Robert P. Casey, Jr. (D-PA): (202) 224-6324

Consider contacting the following Senators that voted Yea for the DARK Act to let know that you are very disappointed that they voted to destroy states’ rights:

Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-MN): (202) 224-3244

Sen. Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND): (202) 224-2043

Sen. Joe Donnelly (D-IN): (202) 224-4814

Sen. Pat Roberts (R-KS): (202) 224-4774

Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-KY): (202) 224-2541

Sen. Thad Cochran (R-MS): (202) 224-5054

Sen. John Boozman (R-AR): (202) 224-4843

Sen. John Hoeven (R-ND): (202) 224-2551

Sen. David Perdue (R-GA): (202) 224-3521

Sen. Joni Ernst: (R-IA): (202) 224-3254

Sen. Thom Tillis (R-NC): (202) 224-6342

Sen. Ben Sasse (R-NE): (202) 224-4224

Sen. Charles Grassley (R-IA): (202) 224-3744

Sen. John Thune (R-SD): (202) 228-5429

Additional Sources: