The 64 Countries that Require GMO Labeling – U.S. Buckles Under Biotech Pressure

gmo labeling

gmo labelingMonsanto, Dow, Cargill, and many dozen food manufacturers are trying to fight the imminent passage of labeling bills in both Colorado and Oregon, claiming that GMOs’ are ‘safe,’ and that labeling will only lead to food hysteria. But the fact is, much of the modern world requires labeling of GMO foods, or downright bans them. What about the United States? No labeling here!

Companies like Safeway, Target, and Starbucks don’t want to tell you what is in your food, and neither do Kraft, Pepsi, Coca-Cola, and more, but its time to stop these corporate monsters in their tracks. The U.S. is the land of plenty – or used to be, but corporations given personhood and the biotech industry have taken over. Why does the U.S. even have to fight this fight when 64 other countries already label or completely ban GMOs?
The fact is that Americans eat lots of processed food – food that is full of GMO corn, soy, rice, and sugar beets – 4 huge money-makers for GMO manufacturers.

In the book “Salt Sugar Fat: How the Food Giants Hooked Us,” Pulitzer Prize-winning New York Times reporter Michael Moss exposes how the unregulated food industry has developed unhealthy ways to get consumers hooked on their brands. They know many of us are hooked on ‘fake-foods’ like drug addicts on crack, but that is all about to change.

We don’t need to eat their RoundUp-drenched crap anymore, but we also need to require labeling so that even ‘organic’ and ‘natural’ foods are safe from biotech meddling. (Though many argue that GMO labeling isn’t enough, that even with labeling, organic crops will be contaminated with GM crops and biotech giants will continue to plant GM crops.)

The following 64 countries require GMO labeling of some kind:

(Courtesy of The Center for Food Safety):

  1. Australia
  2. Austria
  3. Belarus
  4. Belgium
  5. Bolivia
  6. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  7. Brazil
  8. Bulgaria
  9. Cameroon
  10. China
  11. Croatia
  12. Cyprus
  13. Czech Republic
  14. Denmark
  15. Ecuador
  16. El Salvador
  17. Estonia
  18. Ethiopia
  19. Finland
  20. France
  21. Germany
  22. Greece
  23. Hungary
  24. Iceland
  25. India
  26. Indonesia
  27. Ireland
  28. Italy
  29. Japan
  30. Jordan
  31. Kazakhstan
  32. Kenya
  33. Latvia
  34. Lithuania
  35. Luxembourg
  36. Malaysia
  37. Mali
  38. Malta
  39. Mauritius
  40. Netherlands
  41. New Zealand
  42. Norway
  43. Peru
  44. Poland
  45. Portugal
  46. Romania
  47. Russia
  48. Saudi Arabia
  49. Senegal
  50. Slovakia
  51. Slovenia
  52. South Africa
  53. South Korea
  54. Spain
  55. Sri Lanka
  56. Sweden
  57. Switzerland
  58. Taiwan
  59. Thailand
  60. Tunisia
  61. Turkey
  62. Ukraine
  63. United Kingdom
  64. Vietnam